The Long Dark

About the Game here.

Game Trailer here.

I just preordered my copy, which is very rare for me since I do not preorder games at all. This one is different, however, the studio is Hinterland Games which is based right here in British Columbia Canada (Northern Vancouver Island), the game’s setting is also based on the Northern Canadian wilderness, its an episodic game about surviving and the choices you have to make, its voiced by some of the best Canadian voice actors (Mark Meer, Jennifer Hale, David Hayter, and Elias Toufexis), it has 2 gameplay modes (Story and Sandbox), and it’s an indie game.

To me, the story mode is just a bonus because I’ve longed to play a survival based game that does not have zombies in it or isn’t some half assed adversarial multiplayer. For while there, DayZ was great, I played on a server from salt spring islands that had a low ping and a decent cooperative community but it was ruined by the numerous server jumping gear farmers and griefers. A decent amount of the player base is out just to kill you for amusement, and not in any fun way either, some of these online psychos will prone somewhere with a sniper rifle that is trained on the starting area and kill people as they spawn or in high traffic areas, some of the worst players will try to get you do something stupid like writing an ingame essay to convince them not to kill you, or hog tie you and force feed you rotten food to kill you slowly. Sound awesome? if so, you are the worst type of gamer. Don’t believe me? go to reddit and check out some of the stories.

I really enjoyed Tomb Raider (2013) because it had survival elements, a cool crafting system and a pretty decent story. The survival, exploration, and crafting parts of the game were done pretty well and it kept me coming back to it even after I finished it.

I also modded Skyrim and New Vegas (and probably fallout 3 soon) with survival focused mods like environmental mods that force you to consider shelter or better clothing to deal with the weather and temperature, a calorie and/or dehydration mod that affects your overall health and diet that make finding food and water a priority, and health mods that make you clean and bandage wounds or make splints for broken bones before you can heal damage. A crafting system also is a plus for me but is not a major issue if its not an option. With those type of mods I just try to survive, level, get gear, and hunt. I love it, it drives me to play the game repeatedly and try out alternate play styles. 

The Long Dark has a mode that lets you do exactly that, survive for as long as possible against the elements, the sandbox mode. That is the primary reason I preordered the game. I don’t care if it doesn’t even get a crafting system, just so long as it can deliver a compelling survival experience.

Having a story mode with episodic content with the voice talent and composers they have lined up is just icing on the cake.

Can’t wait to get to try this game out when it hits steam early access.

Leave a comment