Splinter Cell Blacklist

Another aggravating and frustrating issue arose when I got to the campaign mission, Transit Yards, the game would crash on loading the level. All other missions would load fine and play without issue.

So like any other self helper, I got onto google and looked for people that had similar problems and possible fixes. Only one was found, a facebook post that is my issue precisely and dated 2 years ago. No other helpful information with regards to fixes or workarounds.

So like any other determined self helper, I updated all my drivers and did a directx diagnostic. No results, loading up Transit Yards still resulted in a crash but all other missions would load fine and play without issue.

So like any other grim goal oriented and fatally undaunted self helper, I started to change my graphical settings to lower ones. Turning off or down Antialiasing, Anisotropic Filtering, Tessellation, Parallax, Texture Detail, and Lighting. All met with no results, Transit Yards would still crash but all other missions would load and play without issue.

So like any other single-minded laser focused will driven individual self helper, I tried switching to Directx 9 instead of Directx 11. Again, no results, Transit Yards would still crash on loading but every other missions would load and play without issue.

I also tried posting on the splintercell subreddit to see if anyone had my particular issue. Nothing worked, and I was hesitant to try for a pirated crack.

So like a drowning man grasping at air and hoping someone will lend a hand, I tried ubisoft tech support. I stated my issue plainly and my approaches to try address the issue so far. Surprisingly, I got a very quick response from helpful person suggesting I try the generic IT catch all response of clearing out my temp folders, updating drivers, disabling background applications, and doing a directx diagnostic. Knowing they would not work at all, I tried them anyway, and unsurprisingly they did not work. Transit Yards still crashed but all other missions would load and play without issue.

So I reported my findings to the helpful ubisoft support person and got another quick response, this time asking me to upload my directx diagnostic and msinfo. I did. And was told reinstalling would fix it. 

So that’s what I’m doing now. A shame my experience with the game is being marred by technical issues because I was really enjoying the game. I like gameplay, the customization, the story is decent, the voice acting for Fisher was decent (although I still prefer Michael Ironside), and the villain voiced (and mocapped) by actor Carlo Rota was pretty good.

Hopefully the reinstall will fix it. If not I’ll just move on to playing Assassin’s Creed 4: Black Flag. And hoping I don’t run into anymore technical issues.

Edit: It did not work, still crashes on Transit Yards.

Leave a Reply

