Audible for March/April

I picked up Woken Furies by Richard K. Morgan and pre-ordered the re release of Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files: Ghost Story read by James Marsters.

Woken Furies is the 3rd and final book in the Takeshi Kovacs trilogy. I was happy to pick it up but upon starting it up there is a slight problem. It’s narrator changed from Todd McLaren, who read the first 2 books of the Kovacs trilogy excellently, to William Dufris, who I thought read the majority of the Old Mans War books, but there is some glaring issues right off the bat. First of all, the constant mispronunciation of Kovacs, its pronounced Kovach but the Dufruis as its spelled despite the first 2 novels plainly explaining how its supposed to be. Secondly, it has some funky sound effects (like pretty useless reverb.) Maybe it just takes some getting used to because Dufris is a good narrator. I will keep an open mind because I really like the trilogy and Morgan’s writing/storytelling.

The very second I noticed the post on reddit about the pre orders for the James Marster’s narrated Ghost Story, I decided to use my other audible credit to pre-order it. So I’ll be able to download it on April 21st.

Leave a Reply

