What I’m reading/listening to, watching, and playing for June.

So for this month I will be reading the graphic novels for Black Widow written by Richard K Morgan, Homecoming and The Things They Say About Her, of which I was very lucky to pick up because those 2 were out of print and extremely hard to find. Luckily, my local comic shop Comic Encounters had both in stock and I was able to pick up both for about 25$ each. A pretty good deal because with shipping and other hassles if I had ordered them from some online retailers through amazon I would have paid 150$ for one and 100$ for the other plus shipping (7$ each) as well as any cost to bring them across the border. Also, while at Comic Encounters, I picked up the first 2 books in the Fables series, Legends in Exile and Animal Farm. Ever since I playing Telltale’s “The Wolf Among Us” I wanted to get into the story in more depth and I found the books were reasonably priced enough and decided to pick up 2 per month until I read the complete series. Which is going to be 22 books over 11 months, a pretty good diversion from how focused on audiobooks I am currently.

On the Audible front, I picked up with my 2 credits Charles Stross’ “Halting State” and “Rule 34.″ I am about 2 and a ½ hours into “Halting State” and starting to get into it now. I was initially a little off put by the multiple Point of View Characters (3) told in a first person perspective but after a couple hours into it, I am getting used to it. Seems its better fitted to actual reading than an audiobook but now that I’m into it I can deal. I’m liking the gaming focus so far. I should be able to get through them quickly but for the Witcher 3.

The Witcher 3 was quite worth the wait, its a great game and will be the measuring stick for the RPG genre for a long time. I’m playing crazy amounts of time and still finding my play style to be enjoyable. The Just Jules approach is nice for this game. I’ll be playing this for the next couple months for sure. I don’t see any other games of this quality on the horizon for a long time and I want to enjoy every bit of it.

As for what I’m watching this month, I’m gonna do a rewatch of a couple of my favorite TV shows: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, and Deadwood. It’ll be a good way to start off the summer.

Leave a Reply

