New (to me) Stuff to check out: Audiobooks and Graphic Novel/Trade paperbacks

So, it being the weekend after a UFC event and in between gaming sessions (A Witcher 3 Replay), what do I do? I look for interesting books/audiobooks, movies, games, graphic novel/trade paperbacks, and music to check out.

This time it’s mainly narrowed down to a couple of book series and a graphic novel/trade paperback. I was checking out my YouTube subscriptions and noticed Felicia Day had 5 top 5 videos for Books, Movies, Comics, TV shows, and games. I musta missed checking them out in January but I’m pretty happy I finally got around to watching them now. At the moment I am between series’ for audiobooks and only have the Fable series graphic novels/trade paperbacks to check out, so I was pretty happy to come away with 2 new books series and graphic novel/tpb series to check out based on Felicia Day’s top 5 lists. Here are the 3 that caught my attention.

  1. Neal Asher’s Owner series: Felicia Day said 2 things that got my attention immediately, Takeshi Kovacs series by Richard K Morgan and Cyberpunk. I’ve been on a cyberpunk kick the last few months and the comparison to Richard K Morgan’s Kovacs series sealed the deal for me. I already put the series on my audible wish list to pick up in the future, after I’ve picked up the Gaiman novels (Neverwhere, American Gods, and Trigger Warning) and the first book in the Witcher Series Blood of Elves by Andrzej Sapkowski.
  2. Benedict Jacka’s Alex Verus Series: Any favorable comparison to Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files and I’m in. I’ve seen it recommended a lot in the various subreddits I lurk on and it was on Felicia’s top 5, so I think it’s worth checking out. Also on my Audible wish list for future listening.
  3. East of West: A sci-fi western and the 4 horsemen of the apocalypse graphic novel. Need I say more?

So there they are, more interesting things to check out.

On a side note, I finished off the 2 Black Widow graphic novel/tpb by Richard K Morgan and liked them both (The Things They Say About Her, and Homecoming), now I am onto reading the first 2 books in the Fable Series (Legends in Exile, and Animal Farm.) Now that I’ve finished The Witcher 3 I can spare some time during the replay to read them. I will not be picking up 2 per month like I posted before however, as some plans of mine have changed for the next couple months but I will start-up again after September. The 2 audiobooks per month have not changed, that streak is going on for at least 18 months now, and I’ve been subscribing to audible since April 24 2014.

Leave a Reply

