The Laundry Files series by Charles Stross.

I got another cool series to check out, after just finishing Stross’ Halting State and Rule 34, I added his Laundry Files series to my Audible Wish List for future pick up. I listened to the Audio sample to check if it was really the same Gideon Emery that does the voice work for so many games and it was. After looking up his Wikipedia page, Emery has done a ton of voice work for games and a lot of narration for audiobooks, as well as having a multitude of movie/tv roles (including Daredevil on Netflix, very impressive.)

I enjoyed Halting State and Rule 34, so adding the Laundry Files series to my wish list for future pick up was a pretty easy decision to make.

So my plan for audiobooks for the foreseeable future is:

  1. Neil Gaiman’s American Gods
  2. Neil Gaiman’s Trigger Warning
  3. Neal Asher’s Owner Trilogy
  4. Benedict Jacka’s Alex Verus Series
  5. John Scalzi’s Lock In narrated by Amber Benson
  6. Charles Stross’ Laundry Files series

Which gives me a huge amount of choice as to what to listen to, I’m heavily leaning towards Urban Fantasy and Cyberpunk as my preferred genres because my first 1 and half years on audible was mainly focused on fantasy books like Joe Abercrombie’s First Law Trilogy and his stand alone books (Best Served Cold, The Heroes, and Red Country), George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire, Stephen King’s The Dark Tower. The Dark Tower is blend of genres from Fantasy, Science Fiction, Western, so it’s a little unfair to say it’s strictly fantasy but I’m using it to illustrate how much fantasy I was reading at the time (19 books in total, unintentional Dark Tower reference FUCK YEAH.) So roughly half my of my time using audible for audiobooks was spent listening to fantasy.

So if you are the curious type and are wondering all the different books series I’ve listened to, yes that’s right I prefer audio books now, here they are, in no particular order:

So about 60 novels in total, plus or minus 1, and this does not include Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere (which I’m liking a lot so far) and Andrzej Sapkowski’s Blood of Elves, because I haven’t listened to either completely yet. I am about 4 hours into Neverwhere now and haven’t listened to Blood of Elves yet.

Audible has been pretty good with content so far, with only a couple of series I wanted to read that were not available (JK Rowling’s Harry Potter, and until recently but still not a majority of the series Andrzej Sapkowski’s Witcher series.)

Leave a Reply

