What I’m playing, listening to, watching, reading, looking forward to for October.

So I wanted to get back in the habit of doing these for each month because I let it go for a couple of months and it’s something I want to keep going on with. This time I’m adding what I’m looking forward to for the next couple months, it will be things like books/audiobooks, graphic novels/trade paperbacks, movies, and games.

So to start off, while in Vancouver last month I was supposed to see Sicario in theaters but it’s release got changed to a limited one with a wide release in October (oct 2nd), so I missed it and I probably won’t be able to watch it until it comes out on blu ray. I kinda prefer waiting to watch things on blu ray anyways so it’s not too terrible, but I would have liked to see it while I was in Vancouver though.

Back on topic, this month I’m mainly playing Diablo 3, I have a decently geared Demon Hunter and Barbarian in Season 4. The new season has added Kanai’s Cube which has added a new aspect to the game by being able to add 1 weapon effect, 1 armor effect, and 1 jewelry effect as a passive bonus to your character, this allows some builds to flourish and be successful. The only downside is that the standard cube items for most builds are The Furnace and The Convention Elements. Demon Hunters are cubing Calamity or using The Fulminator or Thunderfury. Still it’s making some fun gear combo’s work out and adding a new layer to the game. I’ve been doing greater rifts for gear and blood shards to gamble for ancient legendaries as well as regular rifts and bounties to reroll sets or weapons to get ancient legendaries too. Also, being able to upgrade yellow gear to legendary or even ancient legendary gear has cut down a lot of gear grinding and cut out a lot of RNG on drops as well as changing set pieces to another part of the set using the Cube. It’s been lot of fun and it is very easy to roll up another class to get gear and switch things up.

I’m still subbed to WoW but my play time has dropped a lot since I started playing D3 again. I’m mostly just getting the things I need for legendaries with my rogue/hunter/shaman now. I’m very close to completing the legendary daggers questline and about half way on the tomes I need for the legendary ring. For my Hunter, I’ve had zero luck with the legendary bow so far, it has been about 2 months of running sunwell so far. I’ve been running ulduar with my Shaman to get the legendary healing mace and only gotten about 10 of the fragments so far. I’m also very close to having full conquest gear on my Shaman, Hunter and Rogue. I’ve already got full conquest on my Death Knight. I’m mostly staying subbed because I want to complete the legendaries.

I picked up the DLC pass for the Witcher 3, which was about 27$ CAD, and looking forward to playing the Hearts of Stone DLC when it’s released.

On the book/audiobook front, I picked up the Rogues and am extremely pleased with so far. I bought it mainly just for the following stories: Tough Times all over by Joe Abercrombie narrated by Gwendoline Christie, How the Marquis got his coat back by Neil Gaiman narrated by Roy Dotrice, and the Rogue Prince by George R.R Martin narrated by Iain Glen. However, I’ve enjoyed a couple of the stories from other authors as well. I haven’t listened to all the stories yet, I’m about a little over halfway through but the following stories have been pretty good so far: Tough Times all over by Joe Abercrombie narrated by Gwendoline Christie, What do you do by Gillian Flynn read by Julia Whelan, Bent Twig by Joe R. Lansdale narrated by Phil Gigante, A Year and a Day in Old Theradane by Scott Lynch read by Gwendoline Christie, Heavy Metal by Cherie Priest narrated by Scott Brick. Overall this has been well worth it and I still have not gotten to the 2 other stories I bought it for. I also enjoyed the foreword by GRRM on Rogues and genres, loved the Al Swearengen bit and mention of Deadwood.

I also picked up Live by Night, another story featuring Joe Coughlin, mostly because I liked World Gone by a lot. I will immediately start on it after I finish listening to Rogues and I’m sure I’ll like it. World Gone by was done extremely well and was a sorely needed break from sci-fi or fantasy.

Avengers: Age of Ultron is out this week on Blu Ray and I’ll be picking it up for sure. It’s one of the movies I regret not seeing in theaters (the other being Mad Max Fury Road) and I am looking forward to finally watching it.

This month I am also continuing on with the side by side rewatch of Buffy the Vampire Slayer season 4 and Angel season 1. So far so good, only a few episodes line up however but otherwise it’s been good.

This month I’ve been wanting to rewatch Firefly and then watch Serenity, as well as all 6 Star Wars movies. It is october and that usually means watching horror movies or the like but for me I feel like watching some sci-fi space shows, maybe I can fit in a couple of Star Treks as well.

On the graphic novel front, I still have yet to read the 3 Fables books I got a couple of months back and now seems like a good time to start. I’ll definitely start picking up 2 or 3 per month until I finish the series. I liked Telltale games The Wolf Among Us a lot and that was the reason for wanting to check out the Fables graphic novels. I have Legends in Exile and Animal Farm, and will probably pick up Storybook Love and March of the Wooden Soldiers later this month.

What I’m looking forward to in the next month or two is Fallout 4, Starcraft 2: Legacy of Void, Battle of the Five Armies Extended Edition Blu Ray, and watching all 6 extended edition versions of The Hobbit trilogy and Lord of the Rings. I’m also looking forward to starting a new audiobook series, which will be either: The Alex Verus Series, or The Owner Series, or The Laundry Files.

 

Leave a Reply

