Harry Potter 1 to 3 audiobooks.

So I ended up getting 3 extra credits this month and I used them to pick up: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. I ended up doing based on Stephen King’s interviews or articles King wrote on the Harry Potter series.

So far I’ve liked it and I found it interesting because I like to notice details or story lines that are cut to make a movie adaptations. So I was already interested going in. The quidditch parts quickly became less interesting, it seemed like more of a sideshow to the story and took a bit away from enjoyment of the pace and story development.

I definitely enjoyed the style of writing and the characters. The stories in all 3 were decent, which is all I care about in a book, and I enjoyed the flow and pace of the stories. The narration by Jim Dale was okay, not a stand out and not a disappointment, and Dale did a variety voices that had distinctness and was consistent throughout.

Of the 3 so far, I enjoyed The Prisoner of Azkaban the most, although I’ve read that series picks up in book 4 and then really gets better as it goes on. I’m looking forward to that. It’s similar to the Dresden Files, as the Dresden Files really picks up at book 3 and in that way I really want to listen to the Harry Potter series quickly. So with that said, I am going postpone picking up the 2 Witcher novels I had originally planned on getting (The Last Wish, and Sword of Destiny) to pick up: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

My enjoyment of the series so far is largely based on it being a pretty decent story. While 3 books is a good introduction to a writer, I have not yet formed a solid opinion so far on J.K. Rowling but I’m finding that I’m enjoying her style so far. I am not so sure that I’ll pick up her other works, beyond the rest of the Harry Potter series, like I have with other authors.

A note on Stephen King, despite how much stock or emphasis I place on his opinions or recommendations on books, I keep my own counsel still. King found the Hunger Games trilogy uninteresting while I liked it as well as finding it interesting and compelling despite the Young Adult Trope of a teenage romantic triangle. However, King did recommend World Gone By by Dennis Lehane which I thought was pretty good and liked it so much I picked up another book by Lehane that features the same character called Live by Night.

I also happened to pick up the complete Harry Potter series on Blu ray from amazon.ca for 49.99$. It seemed like a good deal and I did enjoy the movies.

Leave a Reply

