Audible for June 2016.

This month I’ve been listening to the Gentleman Bastard Sequence (The Lies of Locke Lamora, Red Seas Under Red Skies, The Republic of Thieves) by Scott Lynch and I’m about 3 hours from finishing The Republic of Thieves. The Lies of Locke Lamora was especially good, and the other books while good aren’t as good as the first. I can see why this series is so highly recommended. Michael Page does the narrating and is good. Page did the North American Audible versions of Best Served Cold and The Heroes, before the Steven Pacey re-releases, and did a fine job but the First Law Series is Pacey’s like the Dresden Files is James Marsters.

Late Edit: So I just finished the Republic of Thieves. It was very good and I can’t wait for the Thorn of Emberlain now. Lynch can really tell a good story and create great characters. I must also say that I thought Republic of Thieves was just as good as The Lies of Locke Lamora despite my previous statement above.

After finishing Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence, I’ll be listening to the Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King, it’s King’s Hard Boiled detective series and I’m really looking forward to listening to it. I’ll be picking up the 3rd in the series on the 24th, with one of my 2 audible credits.

I’ll have 1 audible credit left to pick up something new, The Farseer: Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb or The Devil You Know by Mike Carey or Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews.

 

Leave a Reply

