What I am playing/listening to/watching/reading/looking forward to for July 2016.

This month is gonna be decent one for gaming, audiobooks and movies for me.

I finally have a plan to deal with my backlog of games and DLC to playthrough. It’s a 1 week on and 1 week off system, in the on week I will play a game or play the DLC for a game for that week (usually takes me a couple of days to finish a game, a week should allow me to play through 1 game and its DLC if any) and in the off week I’ll be listening to my audiobooks. So 2 weeks out of every month is dedicated to playing through one of the backlog games.

I’ve already started with Dragon Age Inquisition’s Trespasser DLC, which was decent but this seemed better off as a gift to fans to bridge to their next game and it would have been a fine bait to hook in more buys of Jaws of Hakkon and The Descent. No regrets in picking it up as it nicely tied up the story, provide greater detail on the repercussions of your actions as the Inquisitor, a more thorough epilogue of the game, and a nice set up for Dragon Age 4.

In between sessions of Overwatch, I’ve been playing through The Witcher 3’s Blood and Wine DLC, which is great so far. As usual, I started off the DLC by immediately going after the new Gwent Deck, The Skellige. However, the side missions and the story have been fun as well. I’ve only done the first parts of the main quest so far but I’m immediately hooked because of Vampires.

Speaking of Vampires, I picked up Legacy of Kain: Defiance from GOG.com during a sale and will get it to it soon. The Legacy of Kain games are one of my favorite game series and it delivers on voice acting, story, and great characters. I’ll get around to replaying this later in the month.

I also picked up Assassin’s Creed Syndicate for 22$ on a sale, which is my ideal price point for games (anything between 20$-45$) and I’m looking forward to playing it after I finish AC: Rogue and AC: Unity.

I also decided to get Bioshock Infinite’s season pass on sale, as well as the bundle deal on Bioshock 1/2 (which will soon be remastered and free to those that own 1 and 2 later this year.)

The Legion pre-patch for WoW should be out this month as well and I’m looking forward to trying out all the new changes for every class/spec. At the moment, I’m probably going to playing Death Knight (unholy and blood spec), Rogue (Assassination Spec), Mage (Frost Spec.) However, depending on the changes to Assassination I could also be playing Monk (Windwalker, Mistweaver.) I could also being playing Shaman (Enhancement, Restoration) or even Demon Hunter (Havoc, Vengeance.) I like to keep my option open.

I was avoiding picking up new games for a while because my backlog was pretty immense and seemed hard to deal with but now that I have a system to deal with it, I’m pretty happy with adding new (or older games) to my library.

On the audiobook front, which was one of the reasons I was slacking on my backlog of games, I can finally get into series’ and sequences again. In my off week of gaming I’ll be able to focus on listening my audiobooks without the worry of not being able to listen to at least 2 books a month.

This month I’ll be listening to Stephen King’s hardboiled detective Bill Hodges Trilogy (Mr Mercedes, Finders Keepers, End of Watch.) I will be starting on the 10th and it should only take a week to listen to the whole series.  I also have an extra audible credit this month that I may use to start a new series, which is mostly likely to be the Sandman Slim series but could also be Kate Daniels series or The Last Kingdom series.

I’m going to pick up the ultimate edition of Batman v Superman this month which is supposed to be out on the 19th. I’m looking forward to checking that out and judging it for myself. I liked Man of Steel and I like Zack Snyder as a director.

UFC 200 is also coming up this month and I’m extremely looking forward to seeing some great fights next week.

Also, how fucking good was this seasons Game of Thrones? The wait til next season is gonna be killer.

I’m looking forward to the Legion Expansion (due out end of August), Skyrim Remastered (due out October 28th), Bioshock remastered, and Neil Gaiman’s new book Norse Mythology.

Leave a Reply

