The Bill Hodges Trilogy by Stephen King (Mr. Mercedes, Finders Keepers, End of Watch)

Pretty glad I picked these up last month and waited to read them back to back, they are very good and narrated very well by Will Patton. First off, I really enjoy anything hardboiled, I enjoy good characters, and I enjoy a well put together story, the Bill Hodges Trilogy has all 3.

I also liked that End of Watch had a very X-files vibe.

Out of all 3, I feel I enjoyed the first one the most, as it really nails the hardboiled aspect the most and I really wasn’t able to predict where it was gonna go or how it ended.

The next 2, while good and very well done, I was able to see the “Turkish Rug Pattern” (a very good analogy from the books) and yet still very much enjoy the well crafted story.

Out of the 3 main characters, I liked Holly the most. If you read it, you’ll know why.

It’s a series that is definitely worth checking out if you a fan of King or like hardboiled detective stories or like trilogies that have satisfying endings.

Leave a Reply

