My 2016 year in review. Books/Audiobooks.

Like last year, I really did stick to my at least 2 books/audiobooks per month read or listened to resolution from 2o14. Although it felt like my focus was more on gaming this year as I read/listened to about 26 books this year compared to around 30 or so last year. I’m not counting rereads or I should say re-listens, if I did the number of books would be at least 50. The First Law series, the Dark Tower, and various Neil Gaiman books would be the bulk of the re-listens.

My favorites of the books that came out in 2016 or re-released in 2016 is as follows:

  • The Fireman by Joe Hill, narrated by Kate Mulgrew – The narrations was top-notch, Captain Janeway narrates extremely well and I thought Joe Hill’s writing was compelling and nicely done. The Story was inspired by Hill’s father’s The Stand and it really had interesting characters, it was not was I expected especially after the more supernatural/paranormal N0S4A2 and Horns, and I could not easily guess how the story would unfold. Although it was heavily inspired by the Stand, it really does “stand” on its own without being in the shadow of his father’s classic book.
  • End of Watch by Stephen King, narrated by Will Patton. This is the final book in the Bill Hodges Trilogy and it has a cool X-files type vibe to the story. The Hard boiled type detective story and it’s characters who are extremely well done are the best part of the book, as well as the narration which was nicely done. King continues to be a prolific writer and continues to create interesting characters and tell compelling stories.
  • Sharp Ends by Joe Abercrombie, narrated by Steven Pacey. This short story compilation of various First Law related tales was great and the narration is also excellent. I extremely enjoyed the stories and characters of Shev and Javre. The stories that are “prequels” to characters like Glotka, Logen and Bethod, as well as Cosca  were also well done and provided some nice insight and details into some the best characters in the First Law trilogy.
  • The Audible re-release of the Steven Pacey versions of Best Served Cold and the Heroes, written by Joe Abercrombie. Best Served Cold is my favorite of the stand alone books followed extremely close by the Heroes, and Pacey doing the narration was excellent. The Michael Page versions I had previously were also well done but to me The First Law is all  Steven Pacey, like the Dresden Files are James Marsters.
  • The Tower of Swallows by Andrzej Sapkowski, narrated by Peter Kenny. I am thoroughly hooked into this series as I am for the video game adaptations by CD Projekt Red. I enjoy the characters of Ciri, Triss, Geralt, Yennefer, Milva and Regis. I am extremely looking forward to getting Lady of the Lake when it’s available on Audible and completing the series.

My favorite books in the very wide “new to me” category or the late to the party are:

  • Zero World by Jason M Hough, narrated by Gideon Emery. This was a book I picked up based solely on the recommendation of Felicia Day, I read a tweet from her and then read her good reads review and went all in. The story and characters were great, the narration was also very well done. I hope this turns into a series and continues the story. A very well done story with compelling characters and an extremely interesting premise.
  • The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan, narrated by Robin Sachs. Seriously, I am the type of dude who will go all in on anything involving Werewolves and Vampires in a modern setting, and this is an excellent story with the best narration I’ve heard this year. Robin Sach’s narration is what really blew me away and the story was compelling as fuck. Too bad the sequel was such a let down.
  • Mr Mercedes and Finder’s Keepers by Stephen King, narrated by Will Patton. I love a good detective story and I enjoy good characters, and Stephen Kings hardboiled type story was very well done.
  • The Gentleman Bastard Sequence by Scott Lynch, narrated by Michael Page. My favorite trilogy of the year, the first two books were great and the third was good.  There is some debate about it as the first book “the Lies of Locke Lamora” is extremely good and many people think the series goes down from it, I enjoyed the second and really liked the pirate setting. The third book is a change-up from the first two as it tells 2 stories and it isn’t as compelling as the other 2.
  • The BBC adaptations of Neverwhere and How the Marquis got his coat back – An extremely well done cast and abridged version of 2 Neil Gaiman books. Definitely worth checking out.
  • A Knight in the Seven Kingdoms by GRRM, narrated by Harry Lloyd. The stories of Dunk and Egg narrated extremely well by Mr. Don’t Wake the Dragon himself, Viserys Targaryen. Well worth checking out if you are even the slightest bit interested in the A Song of Ice and Fire series.

If I had to pick one book this year as my absolute favorite, I’d totally fucking choose 2 because fuck you and your rules. It would easily be Zero World and The Last Werewolf.

As I said before, my focus this year was more into gaming and my overall count is lower than last year, so I wasn’t able to finish off The Last Kingdom series by Bernard Cornwell, I was sidetracked by World of Warcraft Legion, Tom Clancy’s The Division, Overwatch and The Witcher 3: Blood and Wine. I am currently right in the middle of Death Kings, with the Pagan Lord, Empty Throne, Warriors of the Storm and the Flame Bearer to read.

Also in my “To be read” pile, as in books I picked up this year but did not read yet, are:

  • The Aeronaut’s Windlass: The Cinder Spires, Book 1 by Jim Butcher.
  • Bloodlist by P.N. Elrod
  • No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
  • The Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison
  • The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien
  • The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper.

This turned out to be bigger post than I thought it would be, so I will make this my 2016 year in review for books/audiobooks, with versions for gaming, movies/TV/streaming to follow.

If you read all the way to end, I hope you have a great 2017.

Leave a Reply

