Some Movies I saw last week, part 2.

So during my trip to Vancouver last week I watched a couple of movies, pretty good ones too.

Star Wars: Rogue One – Great movie, it pays homage to the look, feel and story of the original trilogy but really tell’s its own self contained story that I think surpasses anything and everything that the original trilogy offered. The original trilogy had the problem of relaying the “cost” and ethics/morality of a rebellion, and Rogue One really does capture the heroic freedom fighters type vibe the original trilogy had but also includes the end justify’s the means and at all costs type of personalities that also would be in a rebellion. The people who do the dirty work and get results but still remain likeable/relatable/identifiable as characters. My favorite character of the lot is Forest Whitaker’s Saw Gerrera, it was extremely refreshing to see a Star War’s character in the rebellion that is not a paragon of virtue/morality/ethics, but a militant extremist willing to do anything to get something done. The story was great, and it was satisfying to see an ending like that, one that did not need to be necessarily happy. In the first 5 minutes you get that isn’t going to be a Star Wars movie you would expect, and immediately draws you in with a compelling story and cast of characters.

Dr Strange – A good movie, one the better origin stories done for a marvel cinematic universe character. I had no real expectations for this movie, other that it was gonna probably be decent, funny in parts, with good actors, and witty dialogue, so I was rather still very impressed by it. It had a good story with some very strong actors. Benedict Cumberbatch, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Tilda Swinton, and Mads Mikkelsen, all great actors and all put in great performances. Also, the whole white washing controversy with Tilda Swinton which I think is typical social reactionary bullshit, the internet makes such BS issues an echo chamber with a group of people who never consider the why of an issue/topic/idea first before jumping all in on cries of white washing or whatever the social topic de jour is, very similar to the same BS cries of white washing used against Matt Damon in the Great Wall. Kinda went on a rant there but whatever, if you don’t like it, please continue to not like it just fucking think about it. Benadryl Cucumberpatch is great in his role as Steven Strange and I’m interested to see him in other MCU fims.

Passengers – Similar to Dr. Strange, I went in with no real expectations and kinda misled on the premise of the movie by the shitty advertising but came out really liking the movie. I thought it told a good story with some good performances by Chris Pratt, Jennifer Lawrence and Lawrence Fishbourne. A good movie in my opinion as you rarely get a science fiction movie where the conflict is a personal one and done with such a small cast. This is another movie where I don’t agree with critics or people’s general criticism or negative reviews. It most definitely is not a below average movie, I think it’s a good movie and basically I’m right and everyone else is stupid and wrong. You’ll get over my disappointment and judgement of you.

Arrival – This one is an extremely good movie, a scifi movie as well that has an excellent story with a great performance by Amy Adams and Jeremy Renner. If you haven’t seen it, go fucking watching it. Stop fucking reading this and watch it.

Split – You just read my arrival shit right? Now fucking do the same for Split. The story and characters are extremely well done, James McAvoy is excellent in this movie and Anya Taylor-Joy is also great. Seriously, go fucking watch this movie now. If you are one of the people who doesn’t react at the end, count yourself in the unwashed masses crowd, you philistine.

Live by Night – I was excited to see this movie because I enjoyed the book by Dennis Lehane and the character of Joe Coughlin. While I enjoyed the movie and even liked it, I found it disappointing because a good book was adapted into a just a decent movie. I enjoyed the movie because a majority of my favorite sequences in the book were faithfully adapted and the characters were done well and acted well. Ben Affleck does a good portrayal of Joe Coughlin and also does a good job of directing this movie. The story and characters are well adapted, the visuals are good, and the pacing is good, so over all I think its decent movie that is bordering on being good one.

If I had to pick one favorite of the lot, I’d pick Arrival, followed extremely closely by Rogue One and Split. However, the movie that impressed me the most was Split, followed closely by Rogue One and Dr. Strange.

Really, do yourself a favor if you haven’t watched Arrival or Split yet, go and watch them both ASAP and thank me later.

Leave a Reply

