Audible for April/May 2017.

So, after a little struggle with my 2 audibooks per month for the last 3 1/2 years, I (finally) really got back into the pace I had in the first 3 years.

In the last month and first 3 weeks of this month, I’ve been on an audiobook binge in various fantasy and scifi genres. I finished up John Scalzi’s The Collapsing Empire, P.N Elrod’s Blood Circle, Bernard Cornwell’s The Flame Bearer, Cormac McCarthy’s No Country For Old Men, Stephen King’s It, Mass Effect Andromeda: Nexus Uprising by Jason M. Hough and K.C. Alexander, and I’m currently listening to Neil Gaiman’s Anansi Boys.  I am about half-way through Anansi Boys, which I am really enjoying because of the great story and interesting characters, as well as the excellent narration by Lenny Henry. Henry’s provides a great range of voices and is very consistent with them, it really adds the listening experience and really adds a lot to the story. I picked up Anansi Boys because it was on an Audible Daily deal for 3.95$ USD, about 5.45$ CAD, and it was well worth it. I’m not usually one to buy anything on a daily deal of any sort, especially on a whim, but Anansi/Mr. Nancy in Gaiman’s American Gods was such an interesting and compelling character that I thought it would be worth it. It was also well recommended on the various subreddits I lurk on or comment in.

I’ve already gave my thoughts on Scalzi’s The Collapsing Empire in a previous post, however, I will reiterate how much I enjoyed it and how good Wil Wheaton’s narration was.

For Blood Circle by P.N. Elrod, book 3 in the Vampire Files series, there was a change in narrator for this book and it was jarring at first but it grew on my as I finished it. This is a series I will be jumping in and out of, as it is a 10 book series, because there are a lot of other books in my audible wish list that I wish to listen to based on my mercurial listening habits. I’m hooked into anything with a decent story and interesting characters, doubly so when it involves Vampires and Werewolves, and the Vampire files series has a very interesting characters with a good story with vampires. Overall, I enjoyed the book and so far the series hasn’t disappointed me on any front, I look forward to jumping back into the series when I can.

The Flame Bearer by Bernard Cornwell was extremely well done both in story and characters, as well as top-notch narration by Matt Bates. I’ve read the entire series since I’ve watched season 1 of the Last Kingdom on Netflix, with season 2 nearly over as well. I can totally see how this series influenced A Song of Ice and Fire in some respects. The series over all is great and well worth listening to as all the books are well narrated despite a couple of change in narrators over the series. I’m probably mistaken in calling this a finished series, but I since I’ve finished in the last book in the series so far, I consider it done for moment. At least until I hear or read something that says otherwise. With the BBC/Netfilx series, The Saxon Stories or The Last Kingdom Series is well worth checking out if you are checking out the TV/Netflix show adaptation. The audiobooks are in the 10-12 hour ranged, something I consider in between light and moderate length.

No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy, is about 7 and 1/2 hours long, and if you watched the movie you basically got the what the entire book is like. The movie is an extremely well adapted from the novella and manages to get a lot of the book into a 2 hour movie. After listening to this, it made me want to check out Blood Meridian. However, if I didn’t pick this up on an audible daily deal, I probably would not have listened to this audiobook.

Mass Effect Andromeda: Nexus Uprising by Jason M. Hough and K.C. Alexander. This was my first tie in to videogames spawning a book, and I was impressed by it. It had all the elements of what I consider best in a mass effect game, namely good characters and a decent story. Fryda Wolff, who voices Sara Ryder in the game, narrates the story extremely well and proves a good range of voices for the different characters in the book. I thought the book would be a decent one, but impressed me enough to want to check out more of the 2 authors other work. I’ve already was extremely impressed with Hough’s Zero World, so I added his series Dire Earth Cycle books to my audible wish list all of which are narrated by Simon Vance, who has narrated some of my favorite scifi audiobooks (Dune, 13/Blackman.) Unfortunately, I could not find any of K.C  Alexander’s books on Audible.

It by Stephen King narrated by Steven Weber, this was well worth the purchase because it’s a great story with good characters and Weber, aside from a few clipped sentences here and there, did an excellent job narrating. Weber did an amazing job proving a good voice for the dialogue for all the characters.

With my 2 audible credits this month I picked up N.K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season and Jean Hegland’s Into the Forest, I’ve been looking forward to checking Jemisin’s Broken Earth series because I’ve heard she drew some inspiration from the mage/templar conflict from the Dragon Age Series and Into the Forest because I watched the excellent movie starring Ellen Page and Evan Rachel Wood and only realized it was an adaptation a book after watching the movie. I will most likely start listening to both in May because I’m currently listening to the Anansi Boys.

Leave a Reply

