what I am playing/listening to/watching/reading/looking forward to for September 2017.

This was another month I let some stuff slide, I didn’t get to finish uncharted 2 or start on uncharted 3 and Rise of the Tomb Raider, but I did get to listen to some very good audiobooks.

The Stone Sky by N.K. Jemisin was released on August 15, and it is the final book in the Broken Earth Trilogy. Broken Earth was definitely a series that started off slow for me, it really wasn’t until Alabaster Tenring and Seyenite left the fulcrum before I really got into the story and characters. This is a very good trilogy of books that is predictable in some respects but tells a very compelling story with interesting characters. I found it only became predictable near the end of the 3rd book, when multiple plot points converge and loose story ends needed to be tied up. Despite it being predictable, it delivered on a satisfying ending to a very good trilogy of books. The Broken Earth Trilogy is definitely worth checking out, especially so if you liked the Mage/Templar dynamic/conflict in the Dragon Age series. I will definitely pre-order N.K. Jemisins Mass Effect novel, Mass Effect: Initiation, despite Bioware abandoning the single player story of Mass Effect Andromeda. I will have more a rant on Bioware later.

The Black Company series by Glen Cook is still excellent so far, with some very good narration by Marc Vietor. I just finished book 5, Shadow Games which was extremely good and left on really huge cliffhanger that left me wanting more. I start book 6 and 7, and if it continues as it is, I will probably buy 3 extra credits just because I don’t want to wait another 2 months to get to listen to the last 3 books in the series. I really didn’t expect to like military fantasy as much as I like military scifi but this series has some extremely good stories and characters with just the right amount of battle and intrigue. I am extremely looking forward to see how this is going to be adapted for a show in the next few years.

I’ve also been relistening to the Joe Abercrombies First Law trilogy and world books which is narrated fantastically by Steven Pacey.

I picked up some Superhot on a very good flash deal for around 14$ CAD, I’m looking forward to playing it eventually. I was also extremely tempted to pick up Dishonored 2, Prey, and Total War: Warhammer because of the good deal on sales over the last couple of weeks. I also want to pick up Horizon Zero Dawn on the PS4, as well as Uncharted 4 (as well as the Lost Legacy DLC.)

The Defenders captivated me but after a couple of days thinking on it, it wasn’t as good as I thought. There were some very good elements and some interesting storytelling that got ruined by a rushed ending, at least it seemed that way to me.

Game of Thrones is still a good series, not quite the best thing on TV anymore, but still enjoyable and compelling enough to want to see how it ends. I’d rather listen to/read the final books but who knows if we’ll ever get the chance. Remember when GRRM said he could have The Winds of Winter out before or near the start of Season 6? I wonder what the fuck happened there. I find that I am more excited about the second seasons of Westworld and American Gods, than the ending to Game of Thrones. However, the show has definitely rekindled my interest in wanting to read/listen to the books but who the fuck knows when we’ll get The Winds of Winter and if we’ll even get to A Dream of Spring.

I’m still playing a fair amount of World of Warcraft but my interest is waning again, as it usually does when blizzard is trying to fill out time for a raid tier. My toons when from being shit geared to very decently geared in couple weeks time. I’ve went back to playing my DK as my “main” which is surprising because I was very close to having my Rogue be my main. I have a better grip on how to DPS effectively has unholy and still can tank mythic plus if needed, which makes my DK more versatile than my rogue which can only DPS.

I was extremely disappointed that Bioware is abandoning the single player story of Mass Effect Andromeda, it could have easily been the start of a pretty good trilogy and it sucks that we will probably never know who the Benefactor is and why they had Jien Garson killed or find out what the fuck happened with the Quarian Arc. This decision by Bioware to essentially abandon Mass Effect Andromeda, has really made me reconsider buying any future Bioware games, they will be like ubisoft games for me now. Meaning that I will wait for a sale that drops the price to 30$-40$ a couple of months after release.

I picked up Kong Skull Island on blu ray and ordered:  John Wick 2, Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2, and Ghost in the Shell. I am looking forward to watching them later this month. Wonder Women is out on Blu ray later this month and I’ll definitely pick it up.

I am looking forward to summer 2018 because that is the release window for Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files short story anthology, Brief Cases. Fuck yeah. Nothing on Peace Talks yet, but anything Dresden is fine by me. I will pre-oder the very fucking second it’s available on audible.

Leave a Reply

