What I am playing/listening to/watching/reading/looking forward to for October 2017.

The Black Company books are probably the best series I’ve listened to this year. I was gonna just stick to my 2 audible credits platinum plan this month but I just couldn’t wait to finish the series, so I bought 3 extra credits and got the last 3 books in the series. I am currently on book 8, She is the Darkness, and it has extremely good narration and an excellent story. I have Water Sleeps (book 9) and Soldiers Live (book 10) to listen to this month, and that finish off the excellent Black Company Series.

There was an audible sale on the first books in a series and I was able to pick up Sandman Slim by Richard Kadrey for about 6$ CAD, this was a series I have been planning on listening to for quite a while now so I decided to take advantage of the deal. I also used one of my 5 credits I had to pick up Mass Effect: Initiation by N. K. Jemisin, Mac Walters. I picked up Initiation based solely on 2 things, the first Mass Effect: Andromeda book by Jason M Hough and K.C. Alexander was very good and the Broken Earth Trilogy by Jemisin was superb.

Audible Canada is a thing now and I was extremely tempted to switch over but a couple of things made me stay with Audible.com instead.

  1. You cannot get a 2 credit per month plan.
  2. There is no way to buy extra credits.
  3. You only have access to Audible Canada Daily Deals, so there is no 2 for 1 credit sales, whispersync, or first book in the series sales.

However, Audible Canada only costs 14.95$ CAD per month and has excellent customer service, making it hard to pass on. Currently I pay 22.95$ USD (29$ CAD at the current exchange rate) for a platinum 2 credits per month plan and buying 3 extra credits for 34.41$ USD (43.40$ CAD, can get as high as 50+$ CAD depending on the exchange rate), so even at 1 credit per month the savings is pretty huge but I am not willing to give up 2 credits per month yet, or not having access to sales or 3 extra credits per month.

I am not sure which books or series to get next month after the Black Company. If Sandman Slim is decent, that will probably be the series I jump into next. However, I like to switch things up after reading a long fantasy series like the Black Company with something like Sci-fi or horror. That may mean I might pick the The Metro series or something else with supernatural elements.

I still have a backlog of audiobooks to finish off as well: Watership Down, Invisible Man, The Hobbit, The Last of the Mohicans.

I’ll get around to those when I’m able, usually when I’ve blown through a series and have nothing else to listen to in-between credits.

I’m still playing a fair amount of WoW but cut my time down to play other games in my backlog. I mentioned last month I picked up Superhot on a sale and it was extremely fun to play and well worth the 20$ I payed for it. I also have the Crysis trilogy to playthrough and I moved those games to my SSD to ensure I will play them. I only really got into the Crysis series because Richard K Morgan wrote the story for Crysis 2. I have the first season of The Long Dark to playthrough, Rise of the Tomb Raider, Deus Ex: Mankind Divided, Farcry Primal, Farcry Blood Dragon, Splintercell Blacklist, and the Metro Redux games.

I also picked up Total War: Warhammer for 20$ and getting the hang of playing it. it is fun to play and I am getting the hang of playing it the way it’s supposed to be played. I was falling into the trap of playing it like other RTS games like Civilization and Starcraft, and I was just getting destroyed.

Last month I mentioned I picked up John Wick 2, Guardians of Galaxy vol 2, Ghost in the Shell, and Wonder Woman. My favorite out of the bunch is easily John Wick 2, it was a well put together movie with a great world and characters, the special features were also extremely good. I thought GotG and Wonder Woman to be overrated but still enjoyable decent movies. Ghost in the Shell is something that grew on me over time, I was too hung up on it not being an adaptation of the seminal anime but after watching the special features it grew on me because a lot of thought went into creating a new tale with borrowed elements from the manga, anime, and tv series.

I have been looking to pick up a general use soundbar for my PC and PS4 and currently deciding on the Sony HT-CT790 or the Sony HT-CT800. I will mainly be using to listen to movies, game on with the PS4, and streaming audio when I am not using Headphones. The difference between the to 2 is that the 800 has HDR. Both have 4k and hdmi passthru, 2 hdmi inputs, 1 toslink input, bluetooth streaming. The 790 is about 150$ cheaper and the one I’ll probably choose because there is not a lot of HDR content out there right now.

I am extremely looking forward to Red Dead Redemption 2 next year. I got a PS4 Pro for that because I know Rockstar will fuck over the PC market by either not bring the game to PC EVER or not do it for years.

Check out the great trailer.

 

Leave a Reply

